Alternate Link: Arias hugs Machado during pickoff/caught stealing & Bacon calls interference
Thursday, April 3, 2025
No, You Can't Hug Manny Machado - Interference at 3B
Hugging Padres 3B Manny Machado turned into an interference-aided double play for Guardians baserunner Gabriel Arias, as 3B Umpire John Bacon ruled that Arias prevented Machado from making a potential play on trailing Cleveland runner Austin Hedges.
With none out and runners on first and second base (R1, R2), Guardians runner R2 Arias took off for third base, drawing a throw from Padres pitcher Kyle Hart to Machado, who waited to tag Arias. But instead of giving himself up, Arias wrapped up Machado, who mimed a fake throw to second base where following runner Hedges was advancing.
Umpire Bacon, ruling that Arias' actions prevented Machado from making a potential play on another runner, ruled now-retired baserunner Arias guilty of interference pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5): "Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of their teammate."
Broadcasters also erroneously alleged that pitcher Hart balked in making his initial throw to third base, which was unoccupied to begin the play, and without first disengaging the rubber.
While a pitcher is generally prohibited from throwing to an unoccupied base from the rubber, OBR 6.02(a)(4) makes one key exception that is relevant here: "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher, while touching their plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play."
Because R2 Arias was attempting to advance to third base, Hart's throw to third qualifies for the purpose-of-making-a-play exception to the balk rule and is therefore legal.
Video as follows:
Alternate Link: Arias hugs Machado during pickoff/caught stealing & Bacon calls interference
Alternate Link: Arias hugs Machado during pickoff/caught stealing & Bacon calls interference
Labels:
Articles
,
Balk
,
Interference
,
John Bacon
,
Rule 6.01
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Subscribe to:
Post Comments
(
Atom
)