Wednesday, July 11, 2012
Rules 6.05(j), 7.01 and 7.08(e): Tie Goes to the Runner
Ties and baseball: Which of the following is true? (A) Tie Goes to the Runner, (B) Tie Goes to the Fielder, (C) Tie Goes to the Umpire, (D) Tie Goes to the Rule Book.
Using (D) as our starting point, it is high time to answer one of the most confusing and myth-laden plays in baseball.
During Sam Holbrook's recent ejection of Zack Greinke for spiking a baseball, the issue of "tie" made an appearance as video replay appeared to indicate that pitcher Greienke and batter-runner Jose Altuve's feet contacted the first base bag at approximately the same time.
Though ties are scientifically improbable and instant replay is subject to frame rate error, depending on camera speed (e.g., 24- or 30 frames per second)—which is a large reason why umpires call the most standard plays at first base based on sound, which is prone to a much smaller sampling error due to the properties of auditory frequency—some plays may appear to be ties, and given this error, are assumed to be outright dead heats. This is one of those plays. For the sake of argument, we have an outright tie.
We start our analysis where every officiating review should begin—the Rules Book. During this subsequent examination, we will specifically review Rules 2.00 [Out], 2.00 [Safe], 6.05(j), 6.09(a), 7.01 and 7.08(e).
At this point you might be thinking, "all those rules just for a tie?" Yes, it is absolutely vital for without a thorough analysis of the Rules Book, the principle of "tie" may be misinterpreted.
Rule 2.00 [Out]: One of three required retirements of an offensive team during its time at bat.
Rule 2.00 [Safe]: Declaration by the umpire that a runner is entitled to the base for which he was trying.
Rule 6.05(j): After he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base (batter is out).
Rule 6.09(a): The batter becomes a runner when he hits a fair ball.
Rule 7.01: Runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out.
Rule 7.08(e): He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base (runner is out).
With these six regulations in hand, the analysis may begin. The following analysis may be specific to this play (B1-F1 tie at first base). It is important to note that per Rule 2.00 [Out], an out is a "retirement," while Rule 2.00 [Safe] specifies that safe is a declaration of "entitlement" or "right."
Rule 6.05(j) pertains to the batter and specifies that B1 is out if first base is tagged before B1 touches it.
Rule 7.08(e) specifies B1 [Rule 6.09(a)] is out if first base is tagged before he touches it.
Next, recall Rule 2.00 [Safe]. Time for transativity: Rule 7.01 pertains to the runner (the batter becomes a runner when he hits a fair ball [Rule 6.09(a)]) and specifies that B1 is safe if he touches first base before he is out. Because "acquires the right" is a criteria of "safe," that word may be used here.
Alternately, Rule 7.01 may be transatively phrased to read, "The runner is safe when he touches [first base] before he has been retired by F1, who retires B1 by tagging first base before B1 has touched it."
B1 is not out until F1 tags first base before B1's arrival. B1 has to beat the out call; F1 has to beat B1.
Succinctly, if B1 is out, then F1 has tagged first base before B1 has touched it; By contraposition, if F1 does not tag first base before B1 touches it, then B1 is not out—Because the original statement is true, the contrapositive must likewise be true. Per Rule 7.08(e), these two possibilities may be described as "out" or "not out," in contrast to "out" or "safe." However, because Rule 7.01 specifies that if a runner touches a base before he is out, he is safe, "not out" may become "safe."
As such, all Rules agree: The batter-runner is out if his person or first base is tagged before B1 himself has touched first base. The defensive tag must beat the offensive touch.
Mathematically, if F1 > B1 (wherein ">" indicates "arrives prior to"), then B1 is out.
However, if F1 < B1 (wherein "<" indicates "does not arrive prior to"), then B1 must be safe.
So back to our original question: Tie indeed goes to the runner, solely because it cannot go to the fielder.
Related: Ejections 084, 085: Sam Holbrook (3,4) / UEFL Appeals Board Majority Opinion
Poll Question: Which is true concerning ties and baseball?
Using (D) as our starting point, it is high time to answer one of the most confusing and myth-laden plays in baseball.
During Sam Holbrook's recent ejection of Zack Greinke for spiking a baseball, the issue of "tie" made an appearance as video replay appeared to indicate that pitcher Greienke and batter-runner Jose Altuve's feet contacted the first base bag at approximately the same time.
Though ties are scientifically improbable and instant replay is subject to frame rate error, depending on camera speed (e.g., 24- or 30 frames per second)—which is a large reason why umpires call the most standard plays at first base based on sound, which is prone to a much smaller sampling error due to the properties of auditory frequency—some plays may appear to be ties, and given this error, are assumed to be outright dead heats. This is one of those plays. For the sake of argument, we have an outright tie.
We start our analysis where every officiating review should begin—the Rules Book. During this subsequent examination, we will specifically review Rules 2.00 [Out], 2.00 [Safe], 6.05(j), 6.09(a), 7.01 and 7.08(e).
At this point you might be thinking, "all those rules just for a tie?" Yes, it is absolutely vital for without a thorough analysis of the Rules Book, the principle of "tie" may be misinterpreted.
Rule 2.00 [Out]: One of three required retirements of an offensive team during its time at bat.
Rule 2.00 [Safe]: Declaration by the umpire that a runner is entitled to the base for which he was trying.
Rule 6.05(j): After he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base (batter is out).
Rule 6.09(a): The batter becomes a runner when he hits a fair ball.
Rule 7.01: Runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out.
Rule 7.08(e): He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base (runner is out).
With these six regulations in hand, the analysis may begin. The following analysis may be specific to this play (B1-F1 tie at first base). It is important to note that per Rule 2.00 [Out], an out is a "retirement," while Rule 2.00 [Safe] specifies that safe is a declaration of "entitlement" or "right."
Rule 6.05(j) pertains to the batter and specifies that B1 is out if first base is tagged before B1 touches it.
Rule 7.08(e) specifies B1 [Rule 6.09(a)] is out if first base is tagged before he touches it.
Next, recall Rule 2.00 [Safe]. Time for transativity: Rule 7.01 pertains to the runner (the batter becomes a runner when he hits a fair ball [Rule 6.09(a)]) and specifies that B1 is safe if he touches first base before he is out. Because "acquires the right" is a criteria of "safe," that word may be used here.
Alternately, Rule 7.01 may be transatively phrased to read, "The runner is safe when he touches [first base] before he has been retired by F1, who retires B1 by tagging first base before B1 has touched it."
B1 is not out until F1 tags first base before B1's arrival. B1 has to beat the out call; F1 has to beat B1.
Succinctly, if B1 is out, then F1 has tagged first base before B1 has touched it; By contraposition, if F1 does not tag first base before B1 touches it, then B1 is not out—Because the original statement is true, the contrapositive must likewise be true. Per Rule 7.08(e), these two possibilities may be described as "out" or "not out," in contrast to "out" or "safe." However, because Rule 7.01 specifies that if a runner touches a base before he is out, he is safe, "not out" may become "safe."
As such, all Rules agree: The batter-runner is out if his person or first base is tagged before B1 himself has touched first base. The defensive tag must beat the offensive touch.
Mathematically, if F1 > B1 (wherein ">" indicates "arrives prior to"), then B1 is out.
However, if F1 < B1 (wherein "<" indicates "does not arrive prior to"), then B1 must be safe.
So back to our original question: Tie indeed goes to the runner, solely because it cannot go to the fielder.
Related: Ejections 084, 085: Sam Holbrook (3,4) / UEFL Appeals Board Majority Opinion
Poll Question: Which is true concerning ties and baseball?
Labels:
Rule 2.00
,
Rule 2.00 [Out]
,
Rule 2.00 [Safe]
,
Rule 6.05
,
Rule 6.09
,
Rule 7.01
,
Rule 7.08
,
UEFL
Subscribe to:
Post Comments
(
Atom
)